Daily Update

Fitness

Today was my first “speed” workout since I hurt my hip.  I warmed up for about a 1/2 mile, did some short pick-ups off and on for about 3 miles, and finished with a 1/2 mile cool down.  My overall time was 33:48, which works out to about an 8:30 average pace.  I had a tiny bit of soreness at the top of my hamstring when I was done, but I took a lot of time to stretch and roll my leg out after I got back.  I’m looking forward to trying a tempo run on Thursday!

Food

Well, I didn’t make it through last night without having grains.  There just wasn’t that much healthy stuff to eat at the study day so I was starving when I got home and made a bowl of oatmeal with fruit.  Better than a bunch of cookies, I guess.  Today has been pretty good, although I had a major craving for strawberr Poptarts (of all things) this afternoon.

Finding Balance

Last night was the informational meeting for the marathon training program I decided not to do.  Even though I know I made the right decision not to train for a marathon this fall, I still felt a little sad about giving up that goal.  But on the flip side, I was able to volunteer at church for “study day”.  Every semester, right before finals, the church opens its doors to students and provides free food, tutoring, open gym, and a quiet place to study.  I didn’t see much studying going on, but they had a great turn out.  I’m not sure they really needed us or our chips, but it was fun to be part of the busy atmosphere and see our life group friends.

One of the hardest things about cutting back on working out was figuring out what to do with all the extra time I had on my hands.  Well, one thing I am planning to do is get involved with the church’s youth ministry, and because they meet on Wednesday nights, it’s something I wouldn’t have been able to do had I gone ahead with the marathon training group. My new plan will give me time to keep fit and serve others, which are both very important to me.

Font Colors

Still trying to make this site look a little less hideous :).  Hopefully there will be pictures tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

