Daily Update

Fitness

I got up early and got in some upper body strength training before work today.  I thought about sleeping in, but I love to start my day with exercise.  Plus, the gym is going to be closed in the early morning for the next few weeks so soon I’ll have to do afternoon workouts.

No bike ride for me today.  I left it at home because the weather forecast called for thunderstorms this afternoon.   It was a beautiful morning so I walked in to work, and I’ll walk home if the weather holds.  It’s sprinkled off and on today, but so far no big deluge.  I also want to get a picture of the baby goslings hanging around by the lake.  And hopefully not get attacked by Mama Goose in the process.  Those things are mean!

Food

Friday night is our dinner out night.  I’m not sure where we’re going yet, but I’m looking forward to it.  I’ve decided it’s enough of a challenge to go grain free between breakfast and dinner so if I can have grains tonight if I choose to do so.  I think some day I’ll be so used to just eating protein, vegetables, and fruits that it’ll be no big deal to ignore grain-based dishes, but I’m taking this one step at a time.  It’s not a race.

Finding Balance

We’re planning to travel to the Settende Mai Festival tomorrow.  It’s a festival celebrating the Norwegian heritage of a small town near us.  There will be Norwegian food and dancing and a Viking encampment.  Sounds like a lot of fun.  Two benefits of not doing a long run on Saturdays are that 1. I don’t have to worry about fitting it in before we travel and 2. I know I’m going to enjoy myself and not be hungry, cranky, tired, and dehydrated the whole time.  I can exercsise and enjoy my weekend like a normal person.

Leave a Reply

